Julie & Julia….& Nichole

3 Jan

Over the Holidays I saw the movie Julie & Julia. The premise of the quirky tale is that a woman named Julia was a writer by trade and hadn’t written a thing in years. She was stuck in a horrible job that she hated but her only solace was she loved to cook. She would go home and cook gourmet dishes for her husband and everything would be right with the world.  Eventually Julie got the idea that she would spend a a year cooking through famed American Chef Julia Child’s cookbook “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” . Thats 524 recipes in 365 days. Eventually Julie’s blog gained much attention, and was turned into a book… and Julie got to finally be a writer after-all.

I saw many parallels between Julie and myself. I am also a writer by trade. But for the past 2 years I worked at a magazine publisher with no hope of ever being promoted to editor. A few months ago I was laid off and I’ve been trying my hand at freelancing. MY true solace is fashion however; I eat, sleep, breath, and shit fashion. Since I was a kid all I wanted to be was a designer. Its all I could ever imagine doing, however when it was time to apply to college my mother suggested something more practical but equally creative like Journalism. Now I have a Journalism degree and no job.

So what better time than this to launch the design career I’ve always dreamt of having? So for the next 365 days I will be making ALL of my own clothes. I will not be making an article of clothing a day… do not confuse me with Julie. However I am committed to not buying any article of clothing for the duration of 2010. If I want it I’ll make it. If I need it I’ll make it. If not… I’ll just go naked.

This blog will document my success and triumphs and lessons learned. It will feature my inspirations and hopes for this journey and it will propel me into following my childhood dream… sew this is it!

6 Responses to “Julie & Julia….& Nichole”

  1. Vincent Sherry January 3, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

    I enjoyed reading this and admire you for pursuing your dream. I will be checking back to see your designs. Good luck in your pursuits.

    Vincent

  2. Aisha January 5, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    This is a wonderful start Nichole. I’m so glad you decided to pursue your passion. I can’t wait to see/read about your progress.

  3. Revae January 6, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Go Nichole! Go-Go Go Nichole! I am loving this aslready! Keep it up!

  4. Brittney January 6, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Nothing like following your dream Nichole! Plus, you could not buy anything for 5 years and still look incredible, so I’m not worried. I’m impressed and inspired and I wish you the best of luck! I’ll be reading!

  5. Eunique January 7, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

    This is really exciting. I look forward to following your progress. I’m actually currently trying to learn to sew myself and it’s such an amazing treat to have run into your blog when I was going back and forth with myself on whether or not it’s worth it.

    I see that it is. Thanks so much!

    • sewthisisit January 7, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

      I’m glad that the blog can inspire you! Now that I’ve gotten back to sewing I feel so calm and I feel a sense of purpose in everything I do. Keep checking back for more of my progress. I will try to share links and information that will help you along with your journey as well.

Leave a Reply

