One Small Step for Man…

4 Jan

Today was my first day of sewing class. I woke up to the sound of an alarm instead of the sun streaming in my window like a normal leisurely day. I took a hot shower, got dressed in my winter gear and headed out. I was prepared to take a step in the right direction. I rode the elevator down to the lobby and walked out of my building… and i tripped. I tripped! I tripped and busted a hole in my Uggs; right through the toe. My big toe stepped right out of my Uggs and into the morning light. But I was not going to let that get me town. So I kept on stepping to the Metro.

On the train I had already recovered from my morning misstep and looked forward to class. Visions of thimbles and thread danced through my head. Class was located at the G Street Fabrics location in Rockville, Maryland. So that meant a long train ride from my cozy diggs in Capitol Hill to Maryland followed by a bus ride through the ‘burbs. Once I arrived at the bus station I felt instantly proud that I used the Metro website to plan my trip the night before and I knew i was getting on the the C4 bus. Once the bus arrived; I was well on my way.

A 20 minute bus ride later… In the WRONG direction; I was flustered. I couldn’t believe it!  Here I was taking my first step in my new life and I stepped on the wrong bus. Instead of taking the C4 northbound I took the C4 southbound. After hopping off the bus, crossing the street, and waiting in the frigid cold;  I caught the right bus headed to class.

Once I arrived part of me didnt want to go in. Here I was with a hole in my shoe and my white athletic sock peeking out, my nose running from this unusually cold day, and 20 minutes late. I couldnt believe I was starting the first day of the rest of my life this way. But I sucked it up put my best foot forward and stepped into class I apologized for my tardiness and took a seat at my sewing machine.

Needless to say class was amazing! I was totally in my element; I was sewing and surging with the best of them. When the day started I was prepared to step into my new life as a designer until I stepped through my boots and stepped onto the wrong bus. But I kept on stepping. Even though I was taking one small step for me…I took a giant leap  for all of us who are using 2010 as a launch pad for our dreams.

Interested in taking a sewing class? Check out one of these… G Street Fabric Winter 2010 Class Schedule

2 Responses to “One Small Step for Man…”

  1. Mia January 21, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    thanks for this…very happy for you! i have (almost) enrolled in a sewing class for a month now and this has further inspired me to make that move. peace & inspiration in all you’re endeavors

    • sewthisisit January 26, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

      I am so glad that the blog can inspire you! I took a lot out of me to take this leap. Please subscribe to the blog for more updates.

Leave a Reply

