Mom, Look What I Did!

20 Jan

When I was younger I was obsessed with trying to braid my mom’s hair. Every few weeks she would spend countless hours in some woman named Comfort’s house getting her hair pulled and plaited to perfection. I desperately wanted to learn how to braid so I practiced on my  little sister’s doll and when I finally felt ready I propositioned my mom with my services. I told her I’d braid her hair for free just to get some practice on a human head and the answer was “no”. So I did my little sisters hair. She was 7 years old so she had no choice. Once I got better I did my older sister’s. She was 16 so I had to prove myself. Once I won her over I started charging girls at my school. Not Black girls. I charged the white girls; they longed for a smidge of ethnicity so I was happy to oblige. The more popular I became I made a little business out of it. On weekends, my living room was filled with people who wanted my fingers in their tresses. But no matter how many clients I had my mother still wouldn’t let me braid her hair.

I was obsessed with trying to braid my mom’s hair. I felt like it would be the  greatest validation of my skills. One day my mom’s regular braider wasn’t available and she was desperate. I saw this as my chance. After much warning, direction, and apprehension my mom let me braid her hair. I was nervous but determined to show her I knew what I was doing. When I was finished she was delightfully satisfied and I was vindicated. Since then I havent braided much hair and have moved on to other things, but no matter what I did my mom was the ultimate validation.

So when I asked my mom for the Ankara material in my post Closet Klepto and she said no…I instantly had the same feeling of needing her validation.  Her biggest concern was that I was a novice seamstress and I would only  waste the material and she wouldn’t be able to get anymore until the next time she went to Nigeria. So I am proud to say that I didn’t waste it! I made a pencil skirt with part of the material and have so much left over. I plan on doing a mini collection with the rest of it. I hope my mommy is proud of me.

Ankara Skirt

Ankara Skirt

The skirt has a back slit and is fully lined

The skirt also has an invisible zipper

13 Responses to “Mom, Look What I Did!”

  1. Jasmin January 20, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

    Nichole, this is amazing! I’m so proud of you!!!

  2. z January 20, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    WOAH!
    I can’t believe that you are making such professional pieces and you JUST started class.

    …Actually I can believe it, because you are just that good!
    Keep it up!!

  3. Fontaine January 20, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    Beautiful story. Beautiful skirt.

  4. Madi January 20, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    I relly love this skirt and the patterns! Wonderful 🙂 very proud.

  5. Rhea Rhea January 20, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    OMG! This is a beautiful skirt! I love the pattern n colors and u did sooo good on the zipper and split in the back! I know ur Mommy would be proud! 🙂

  6. Nikkole January 20, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    Soooo…when will u have a mini collection to buy from?

    Love it!:)

  7. Zenag January 21, 2010 at 12:19 am #

    This is great Nichole!

  8. Dominique January 21, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    WOW! It looks great! I’s super proud of you!

  9. Courtney January 21, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    …and you JUST started sewing class?! it looks great, and I can almost guarantee you that your Mom would be proud.

  10. Tiffany January 23, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    Its so PRETTY!!! From the fabric down to the way its made. I can’t wait to see the collection.

    🙂

  11. TT January 25, 2010 at 10:42 am #

    Looking good Alabi! I love it. Keep up the good work!

  12. Robbi Rob January 25, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    This is beautiful! The back is amazing

  13. MrsJones February 15, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Great job matching the patterns–if your mom sews I am sure that was part of her concern. Also on the zipper–that’s my biggest nemesis. Mine are always crooked or something and I have to take them out and start over.

Leave a Reply

