Nichole Alabi S/S 2010 Jane of the Jungle

2 Jun

The other night I was perusing my On Demand when I came across a block of Demi Moore movies. Encore On Demand deemed it Demi month or something and put out a selection of her best movies. Beyond her marriage to Ashton Kutcher, you almost forgot she had any sort of film career. Scrolling through titles like “St. Elmo’s Fire” and “The Juror” I came across “G.I. Jane”. I couldn’t remember if the film was good or not but I needed to watch something to jostle up a little inspiration so I pressed play and pulled out my sketch pad (yea…I sketch!).

For those who havent seen the film, it’s about a Senator who wants to push gender equality for women in the Navy so she seeks to find a woman to infiltrate the Navy SEALs. The SEALs is the hardest branch of the navy as it has a 60% dropout rate. Demi is recruited as the woman for the job. She is a lieutenant looking to advance her career and is up for the challenge. Along the way many stand in her way including her commanding officer, classmates, an even the Senator who originally put her up for the job but she perseveres blah blah blah.

When I first began to develop my line I knew I wanted my pieces to be inspired by strong women. Fictional women, women in film, real life women, women in my life; I just wanted strong women to be the template for my clothing. It is my belief that putting on a garment inspired by one of these women will hopefully let a little of their strength rub off on me. So what better woman to gain strength from than G.I. Jane?

With the material I jacked from my mom over the holidays in my Closet Kelpto post I created this piece inspired by G.I. Jane.

The printed romper is inspired by G.I. Jane but with a jungle twist! Jane of the Jungle is an awesome look for the summer as it works as a playful summer look or as a swimsuit coverup. The piece is elastic at the waist and bust making it easy to slip on and off. It also boasts a matching self tie belt. The exciting print also boasts fun details like hidden pockets and bubble shorts.

Jane of the Jungle

Pockets!

Self-tie belt!

Leave a Reply

