Home[coming]

8 Nov

The time of year I look forward to the most is Howard University Homecoming. Yes, this time of year elicits more anticipation out of me than Christmas. There is something about the annual migration of Bison back to the Mecca of Black education that gets me all warm and tingley inside. At Homecoming I look forward to seeing my freshman year floormates who took those first infant steps with me at HU. I look forward to seeing all my beautiful sorors who have helped (and continue to help) me grow. I also don’t mind seeing old flames–sometimes you need them to see you looking your best to let them know what they’re missing.

I don’t know what Homecoming is like at your alma mater, but at mine it is a living breathing fashion show. From the second you touch down on campus until the moment you depart to resume your regularly scheduled life; you are dressed to impress. Homecoming weekend events usually include class/sorority/fraternity/organizational reunions, bunches, parties, being seen on the “yard”, and oh yea the traditional homecoming football game. And yes…all those activities deserve their own well planned outfits.

I use Homecoming as my opportunity to kick off fall fashion. Held in mid-to-late October, Homecoming is the perfect time of year to break out new boots and coats, and to finally manifest those trends that were showcased on the runways. Personally, I take my Homecoming looks very seriously. While that may seem frivolous to some, it makes perfect sense to me. Think about it…you may be seeing people you havent seen in years who probably knew you when you were a snotty-nosed, wet-behind-the-ears, dorm-residing undergrad. Dont you want them to see you looking amazing as a grown up? I know I do…

You must be looking your absolute best when you answer the expected Homecoming question “So what have you been up to?” People bring their new spouses, babies, and divorce stories back to HU. They also regale you with tales of the new success they have experienced since you saw them last. It is nothing to hear that your ex-boyfriend has been living abroad teaching English and your old roommate is managing a multi-million dollar hedge fund. Being an alumnus of the school where Phylicia Rashad first developed her acting chops, where Diddy hosted his first party, and where Zola Neale Hurston started the campus newspaper, there is a lot of pressure to be a success.

So this Homecoming season I committed to wearing all of my own original designs. To say the least, this was my best Homecoming ever! Every day this week I will feature a different original outfit I wore during Homecoming so check back for updates!

In the meantime check out my past successful (and not so successful) Homecoming looks.

 

2009 - All Black Everything On the Yard - Black lace dress, black leather finger-less gloves, black knee-high boots, black statement necklace.

2009 - Stepshow - black liquid leggings, v-neck boyfriend tee, sequin blazer, Tory Burch mini bag

2008 - On the Yard - White chiffon dress, black leather jacket, Ksubi sunglasses, patterned tights, black suede ankle boots

2007 - AKA Reunion - pink silk dress tucked into grey pencil skirt, black tights, black pumps

2006 - On the Yard - Black and purple wrap sweater, black skinny jeans, black boots, gold door-knockers and gold cuff

 

 

Leave a Reply

