Sweatshirt Swag

9 Nov

I kicked off Homecoming weekend by rocking some alumni gear. Though I wanted to represent for alma mater, I’m not quite the t-shirt and jeans or sweats and sneakers type of girl (i”m not sure if you noticed). So I went to the Howard University Bookstore in search of something I could spice up. I didn’t want to dome something janky like cutting of the neckline and wearing it off the shoulder. No, that way too sophomoric (not to mention I did that as a sophomore in college). I wanted to do something more tailored that showed off my skills. So I took an oversized unisex sweatshirt and made it into a more narrow fitting pucker-sleeved sweatshirt.

Heres how I did it (and how you can too!)…

STEP 1: Get a sweatshirt that is at least one size larger than you would normally get. If  you get one too big it may disrupt the design on the front.

STEP 2: Cut off the sleeves. When cutting at the shoulder, cut a little higher up so your new sleeves will be able to fit naturally on your shoulder.

STEP 3: Put on the sweatshirt inside out and pin the sides so that it fits closer to the body. Dont forget to pin the arm holes as well so that the arm hole is smaller and closer in size to your natural armhole.

STEP 4: Sew along the guide you’ve created with your pins. Cut off the excess.

STEP 5: Cut the sleeves diagonally at the armhole. This will (1) make the arm hole wider and (2) shorten the sleeve so it is now a 3/4 sleeve.

STEP 6:  Take the sleeves and machine baste two rows (one at 5/8 and other at 3/8)  the length of the armhole

STEP 7: Pull the loose string on the 5/8 baste, scrunching as you go along, to create the puckered look.

STEP 8: With the sweatshirt still inside out, match the sleeves right-side-out, with the sweatshirt armholes. Adjust you srunches, and pin. Make sure the armhole of the sweatshirt and the armhole of the sleeves are equal.

STEP 9: Sew around the armhole

STEP 10: Turn it inside out, wear, and enjoy!

I paired mine with a knit skirt, knee-high socks, and high heeled hiking boots and wore it to HOWARDWOOD; a panel discussion featuring actors, producers, entertainment lawyers, an other Hollywood powers players who were also Howard alum. What a fitting occasion to wear my new outfit!

Click here for more information on HOWARDWOOD

7 Responses to “Sweatshirt Swag”

  1. Dominique November 9, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    Super cute. I’d like to place my order now. 🙂

  2. Rhea November 9, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    NICEEE Nichole! I love the step by step directions, too. The finished outfit looks ADORABLE, so classic HU. Def should be a Howard model! iLove it!

  3. Mercii November 9, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    this is adorable. i’d probably stabbed myself to death with all the needle work. 🙂

    I’m with Dominique on this one, about those orders….

  4. Marci November 9, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    JOB WELL DONE! Orders will be placed asap 😉

  5. Catherine November 12, 2010 at 1:19 am #

    Thanks for leaving the steps! I was looking at some sweatshirt tops today that were actually kind of cute, but I’m not really a sweatshirt girl either, however, thanks to you I can spice up the sweatshirt myself. I just might purchase a couple.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. links for 2010-12-02 « The Adventures of Geekgirl - December 2, 2010

    […] Sweatshirt Swag « Sew This Is It (tags: sewing craft sweatshirt remake restyle refashion clothes) Leave a Comment LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

