A Break in Tradition

29 Nov

Javai Birthday Dress

Every girl has her birthday tradition. For my friend Javai, since she turned 21, her birthday has included getting a new dress from BCBG and partying VIP style at a hot DC nightclub. Since the tradition began I have been a witness and a to the festivities. This year Javai wanted to put a spin on things and she asked me to make her birthday dress. I was honored and I decided to make her a dress worthy of her special day.

I made her a navy body conscious dress with a unique twist on the one-shoulder twist. The dress featured lilac diagonal panels highlighting her curves and one lilac asymmetrical strap. The dress was perfect for a night out with the girls and Javai was pleased to break her birthday tradition just to have a Nichole Alabi custom creation.

Front

Back

2 Responses to “A Break in Tradition”

  1. Martinis December 3, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    Nice!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Frazzle Rock « Sew This Is It - January 11, 2011

    […] my scrap fabric bin. In the bin I found some midnight blue material from Javai’s dress from A Break in Tradition, some from Patricia’s dress from TwentyFLY & Fabulous, and from a dress I recently […]

Leave a Reply

