A Lil’ Somethin’ Somethin’

30 Nov

Killing 'em in the Cropped Kente

For my girl Javai’s birthday I was uber proud to be celebrating with her while she wore one of my custom creations…but you know I had to whip up a lil’ somethin’ somethin’ for myself. After Javai’s final fitting I had but a few hours to make the necessary alterations to her dress, find something for me to wear, and get ready. Once I took care of Javai’s look I rummaged through my fabric basket to see what I could use to whip up a look for me. I wanted something that wouldn’t overshadow the birthday girl but yet still promote my brand.

Using some West African Kente cloth fabric, I made a cropped puff sleeve top with a simple zipper up the back. Paired with some high-waisted faux leather leggings, a tribal beaded necklace, and peep-toe booties; I achieved an effortless look that was oh so haute!

Front

Puff Sleeve

Back

3 Responses to “A Lil’ Somethin’ Somethin’”

  1. Alessandra December 1, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    I love your designs! What type of sewing machine do you use?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mint Chocolate « Sew This Is It - December 21, 2010

    […] wear to my friend Patricia’s 25th birthday. I’m not sure if you noticed from my “A Lil’ Somethin’ Somethin’” post, but whenever I am going to be somewhere with someone wearing one of my creations, I […]

  2. Baubles, Bracelets, and Bling…OH MY! « Sew This Is It - December 22, 2010

    […] and white tribal necklace I was wearing in yesterday’s post and last month’s “A Lil Somethin’ Somethin’” post. I got it during Homecoming from a vendor and Howard University student named Cindy […]

Leave a Reply

