I Am

12 Jan


I love the Lord but I don’t go to church. I could be trite and provide countless excuses for why I don’t, but I wont bore you. I could say that I don’t go because I’m not a fan of organized religion, or I don’t wake up in time, or I’m really busy on Sundays but the truth of the matter is…it is very difficult for me to stay awake in a church service. I love the signing and stuff but the second its time to sit down and listen…I am out like a light. While it sounds childish I truly think I suffer from a mild form of narcolepsy. Anything the requires sitting for an extended period of time and doesn’t capture my attention immediately will carry me off to slumber. You don’t believe me? Well…I slept during my college graduation, I slept through all of last semester’s Legal Methods course, and I even slept through the first 30 minutes of a 5 hour exam. Notwithstanding, I do oblige my mother with a visit to her home church whenever I am in Toronto.

The Sunday after Christmas I accompanied my mom to church per usual and after the choir ended their set, I nestled into my seat and prepared for my nap. At this point in my adult life, my mom doesn’t even bother waking me up; she knows the drill. As I waited for the pastor to lull me to sleep he began talking about the phrase “I am”. In the Bible when God commanded Moses to speak to the Israelites, Moses basically asked God, when they ask me your name what should I say? God said to Moses “I am that I am” (If you don’t have a Bible handy you can rent the Ten Commandments).

From there the pastor went on to explain that when ever you say “I am” you are either silently blessing or cursing yourself since you are referencing God. With God being the “I am that I am” when you say I am happy; its like you’re sending up a prayer for happiness. It also works the other way, when you say “I am going to fail this class,” you’re pretty much committing yourself to failure.

This was the first sermon in I-don’t-know-how-long I stayed awake for. I heard the whole thing and was pleased. I have a feeling 2011 is going to be really different; different from any other year of my life thus far. I’m going to be 25 this year and I have a goal filled quarter century planned. This year I am going to fall in love, travel the world, grow my business, and make significant strides in my legal career. With that being said, I made sure my first day of the year outfit reflected my sunny outlook.

For the auspicious occasion I designed a golden-yellow shift dress with a banded hemline, half mon waistline, and a cap sleeve accepting the 3/4 sleeves. Paired with bordeaux sweater tights and brown utility boots I walked in 2011 ready to be/do/achieve/have/experience/inspire all that I am meant to.

 

Front

Half-moon Waistline

Cap Sleeve Detail

Back

8 Responses to “I Am”

  1. Dominique January 12, 2011 at 10:27 am #

    This is my favorite post ever.

  2. K. Hill January 12, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    I love this! This dress looks much like the dress that the Kardashians designed for QVC. You are indeed amazingly talented and that sermon was RIGHT on point!

    http://www.qvc.com/qic/qvcapp.aspx?view=2&app=detail&params=itemA211436,RecTypeIndIOFFER,navlistEN01186*A211436*A211425*,cpdetail,tmprelated,cpprodA211405,cm_sciddtlr&walk=&cmtags=

    • Amber January 12, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      I love this dress! The color…everything!! You are surely on the verge of even bigger things 🙂

  3. Cicely January 12, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    I truly enjoy this dress!

  4. Paris J January 17, 2011 at 12:33 am #

    Great post. I read this in perfect timing! I just claimed something I am NOT and I randomly said to myself “let me go to nichole’s blog”…perfect timing. Thank You! love the dress too!

  5. Boler January 18, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    Yes to this post, yes to this dress and Amen to this message. Love it!!

    • Madi January 25, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

      Very inspriing post!! 🙂 thank you.

  6. Madi January 25, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    * inspiring i meant 🙂 lol

Leave a Reply

