Fashion (Law) Week

28 Feb

 

Well lookey here…looks like we have a fusion of fashion AND law in our midst….The Howard University School of Law Intellectual Property Student Association is hosting its own version of fashion week called Fashion Law Week. This week of programs seeks to “provide participants with a substantive overview of Intellectual Property (IP) law in the fashion industry, introduce participants to the work of IP attorneys, and display the work of local designers.”

Fashion Law Week will culminate with a fashion show featuring yours truly on Friday March 4th from 6:30pm – 7:30pm at Garment District. This is my first show ladies and gets and I am so excited. As you all know, my journey as a fashion designer and my matriculation as a law student has led to many internal struggles for me and much criticism from others (Check out this debate in my post “I Cant Be Broke For You“. For me, this opportunity to showcase my work in a law school produced  runway show, is a God-send! As a designer, learning how to protect my intellectual property  is vital.

Come out to the fashion show this Friday to support me and other area designers and check out the flyer above to attend other programs that will educate you on intellectual property in the fashion industry.

**If you’re interested in modeling in the show and wearing my garments, come to the MODEL CALL at Howard University School of Law TODAY at 7:00pm.

Leave a Reply

