Emerald City

7 Mar

Natasha

Everyday another one of my friends turns 25… and everyday I am brought closer and closer to my quarter century on this earth. Five years ago I saw myself in a very different place when approaching 25. I saw myself as a fashion magazine editor in New York City planning my wedding. Today, with only 2 months to go, I’m  a decent law student, budding designer, and single. Dont get me wrong… I’m not complaining… I’m just saying. My yellow brick road has taken me on a different path and everyday I am excited by its twists and turns.

Last weekend we celebrated my friend Natasha’s 25th birthday. We took the city by storm with a party bus full of good-looking guys and girls and plenty of champagne. I designed this emerald dress for Natasha to commemorate the fete. The emerald-green stretch taffeta material with black velvet scratch marks was fashioned into a plunging v-neck with ruffle neckline. The double layer ruffle, which boasts a layer of black velvet, continues on to the back of the dress where a geometric cut-out mocks the plunging-v in the front.

The sleeveless mini-dress was perfect for Natasha’s petite frame and perfect for her birthday. As we took on the city in celebration I could only reflect on my journey to my emerald city, and all that is in store on this journey.

Natasha Back

Front

Ruffle Detail

Back

2 Responses to “Emerald City”

  1. Mercii March 7, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    IN. LOVE!

  2. Boler March 8, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Still in love with this dress!! Will definitely need more pieces 🙂

Leave a Reply

