Fearless.

8 Mar

Runway Show Finale

There is absolutely no feeling like walking the runway in the finale of your own show. Absolutely no feeling like it. When I try to wade through the memory banks of my mind to pick out a better feeling; I am at a loss. To tell you the truth I was extremely apprehensive about doing the show in the first place. When I was approached by the show coordinator via email to participate in the show I ignored the email for about a week. I left the message unread in my inbox (though I’d read it about 100 times) and didn’t mention it to anyone. By the time the show coordinator, Candace, contacted me a 2nd and a 3rd time I was beyond apprehensive. I was afraid. I relayed my sentiments to Candace. I told her I have never shown before, I have never even produced a collection before! She reassured me and convinced me to take the baby step of meeting with her to show my stuff. When I unloaded the 12 or so pieces in our meeting it was she who told me that I was holding a collection right there in my hands.

So I went forward with the show; in fear. Everyday of styling the looks, picking the models, and fittings was another day that I was on the verge of quitting. Even the night before the show I was on the verge of quitting. I’ve seen a million runway shows and the idea of producing a show of my own brought me to the brink of fainting (or throwing up – depending on the day). It wasn’t until I got home the night before the show and just committed to leaving it in God’s hands.

So often we think we must be fearless; and its true, we must. However I think many of us are unclear about what it means to be fearless. To me fearlessness is not a state of being but an act. A calculated act. To say that fearlessness is existing without fear is a fallacy. In my opinion fearlessness is walking in fear. To keep walking along your path though you are afraid is true fearlessness.

The morning of the show, I woke up in a wave of calm and prepared for the show. Some last-minute alterations, a hair appointment, a light meal, and I was off to the venue. Once I got there backstage was in chaos; models were in hair and make up and people were running helter skelter, yet I still felt calm. Even once my girls were lined up and ready to walk I was calm. As my last look hit the runway and I walked out for the finale I was overwhelmed by the response from the audience and overwhelmed by what I had just done, but I was no longer overwhelmed by my fear.

Backstage a reporter asked me what kind of woman I designed for and it hit me, I design for women who have so much to fear yet they’re fearless. I design for women who take a scary leap of faith everyday yet they do it with fearlessness.

Enjoy pictures of the show below and look out for video coming soon.

First Look: Emerald blouse and bordeaux tuxedo shorts

2nd Look: Bordeaux Romper

3rd Look: Print dress with leatherette sleeve detail

 

4th Look: Black and Teal Bodycon dress

5th: Navy One-shoulder Dress

6th: Print Blouse and cropped harem pants

7th: Military Dress

8th: Saffron Shift Dress

9th: Velvet One-Shoulder Top and Leatherette shorts

10th: Kente Crop top and Leatherette shorts

Final Look: Kente Dress

8 Responses to “Fearless.”

  1. Toonie March 8, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Amazing looks all around! It’s great to see your designs on other models besides you, and friends. For some reason, seeing them on strangers makes it official–you’re a designer!!!!! Wonderful job šŸ™‚ Keep up the great work.

    p.s. your hair is super long guh! lol

  2. Fontaine March 8, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    I see Nichole all through this collection – it is very comprehensive and described perfectly by the title of your post.

    You were born to do this. While you have been going back and forth over the years, your hands made up your mind for you… every time you created something for your self or a friend you were really creating your first collection.

    Very very proud of you!

  3. Bianca March 8, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Congrats, Nichole! This is amazing! The Black and Teal bodycon dress is my fav! FAB-U-LOUS. So proud of you šŸ™‚

  4. Lynda/Colorcrazed March 8, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Beautiful designs. Love the way you used color and texture.

    Colorcrazed Custom Fabrics
    BOLD – The FREE E-zine for Blogging enthusiasts

  5. Nikkole March 8, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    I am so proud of you! Your collection is amazing. In fact, anything I’ve ever seen of yours has been nothing short of amazing. You stay true to yourself and your vision as you design and make your clothing, and it WORKS. Yay for being Fearless!

  6. Laqueshia Thomas March 13, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    I hope you continue to flourish in your creativity. It is absolutely inspiring. I love the tribal aspects of your design!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meet My Muse: Nya Johnson « Sew This Is It - March 31, 2011

    […] been in a whirlwind since my first runway show! Every time I turn around I am taking orders, loaning out clothes for photo shoots and the like. I […]

  2. So I know its Real… « Sew This Is It - January 16, 2012

    […] school. My first semester had gone pretty well but my second semester, when I participated in the Fashion Law Fashion Show, went very bad. I’m talking all Bs in the Fall and Cs and Ds in the Spring. By that summer I […]

Leave a Reply

