Feeling It

22 Aug

Lacing up the Future Mrs. Coleman

Last month I was a bridesmaid in the wedding of one of my best friends. Jennifer and I have shared  so many milestones together; pledging our sorority, graduating college, but marriage was one she was doing without me. Of my friends Jennifer was the first to get married but something about the whole weekend seemed unreal. I thought I would feel some sort of pressure as a single girl to hurry up and find my knight in shining armor, but to be honest I didn’t. During the bachelorette party popping bottles…I didnt feel a thing. At the rehearsal (even after I was paired up with a super tall sexy specimen of a groomsman)…I felt nothing. Even the morning of the ceremony, while getting my hair coiffed into a romantic updo…I felt nothing. During the limo ride to the venue I felt like there was something wrong with me. Maybe I did feel some pressure and it was manifesting itself as ambivalence or maybe being 25 (even if only for 6 weeks) granted me with a new level of maturity. Whatever it was I kept waiting for something…

Getting dressed in the bridal suite of the venue I still kept waiting for it, whatever “it” was, until my friend emerged in her off white bridal gown with a pintucked sweetheart bodice and a ruffled fit and flare skirt. Now I’ve seen the dress before, but something about her actually being in the dress made a world of difference. Finally I felt it…I felt the hopes and dreams of a woman becoming a wife; a woman who was becoming a half to a whole. What I felt was happiness for her and hopefulness right along with her. Isn’t it amazing how an article of clothing can do that? And when she gave me the honor of lacing up her bodice, I felt it even more so.

The beautiful bride and I

One Response to “Feeling It”

  1. AlyssaD October 15, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    I know I’m late…but #love! Keep ’em comin doll!

Leave a Reply

