Ripped the Runway

26 Oct

1st Look: Kente Drop-Waist Dress with Bubble Skirt and Structured Cap Sleeves

Last week’s fashion show was the best way to kick off my 2011 Homecoming weekend. I’ll keep it all the way real: I was very nervous about showing in the HUHC show. For starters, I didn’t get the pieces finished until the Sunday , I didn’t fit the models until the Monday, and I was supposed to be ready to go by Wednesday! For an easily frazzled girl like me, that timeline had me on edge. Not to mention the whole culture of urban fashion shows…sometimes they can be a little bit too theatric for my aesthetic. All of these things couple with the fact that I’ve never showed on a stage this large in front of a crowd this large had me going nuts!

But to my surprise I was very satisfied with the show and my contribution. With 14 models I showed a revamped version of my fall collection. Starting with Kente that I acquired while in Ghana, I weaved a color story that went from gold to burgundy, to black, and finally to teal culminating in a chiffon gown.

It felt like such a triumph. The music was right. The models were right. The timing was right. And I’ve been on cloud 9 ever since!

Be on the lookout for video from the show… check out the pics from the show.

**Note: Look 11 (a Chiffon Pussy Bow Blouse and Leatherette Tuxedo Shorts) is messing…I’m working on getting a picture for you guys.

2nd Look: Kente Crop Top with Ducktail and Leatherette Boxing Shorts

3rd Look: Gold Half Moon Swing Coat with Kente Lapel

4th Look: Gold Half Moon Dress with Double Sleeve

5th Look: Burgundy Romper with Fishtail Neckline and Satin Tuxedo Stripe

6th Look: African Wax Print Drop-Waist Dress with Bubble Skirt and Structured Cap Sleeve

7th Look: African Wax Print Swing Coat

8th Look: Burgundy Tuxedo Shorts and Black Double Sleeve Blouse

9th Look: Black Double Sleeve Mini Dress and Oversized African Wax Print Bow

10th Look: Crushed Celvet One Sleeve Peplum Top and Crushed Velvet Leggings

12th Look: Teal and Black Long Sleeve Maxi

13th Look: Teal and Black Cap Sleeve Midi Dress

14th Look: Chiffon Pussy Bow Maxi Dress with Double Sleeve

3 Responses to “Ripped the Runway”

  1. Tiffany C October 26, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    You should try to get on Project Runway.

  2. Naomi October 27, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    I love these pieces!… I must get more clothes made

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So I know its Real… « Sew This Is It - January 16, 2012

    […] buying fabric to work on a new collection. Now its Fall 2011 and I’m riding the high of the Howard Homecoming Fashion Show with an 8 page paper due that I just can’t complete. 8 pages! You do 8 pages in middle school […]

Leave a Reply

