Nichole Alabi in Nichole Alabi

27 Oct

Friday's Look: Chiffon Maxi with Fur Shawl Collar Vest

The best part about Homecoming, besides showing at the Homecoming Fashion Show, was wearing my fall collection looks out and about. Call me what you want, but what are the perks of being a designer if you can’t wear your own stuff? But I digress…as my brand’s aesthetic evolves I have realized that my customer is less me than someone else. Let me explain: when I first started making clothes I made stuff for me. I literally made clothes for me to wear. But once I began developing “Nichole Alabi” as a brand I realized the mature thing to do would be to develop a point of view.

I’ll never forget the season of “The City” where the show’s main character and budding designer, Whitney Port, was invited to Elle Magazine to show her collection to Fashion news Director Anne Slowey and Creative Director Joe Zee. After looking at her work Slowey asked her who she designed for and Whitney said “myself and my friends”. Anne Slowey looked like Whitney said she designed for the devil! Slowey went on to explain that a designer needs a customer and I totally get that now.

So the pieces in my collection I rocked this past weekend were the few that were all me and I wore them my way. Check out another look below…

Thursdays Look: Kente Top with Black Riding Pants

3 Responses to “Nichole Alabi in Nichole Alabi”

  1. Sakita Holley (@MissSuccess) October 27, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    The green look is to die for. You look amazing Nichole!

    I can’t wait to see your collection in stores. Keep up the great work.

    • Nichole Alabi October 27, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      Thanks! hopefully my spring collection will e even bigger and better!

  2. Kendra Y. Hill (@KHill2BaDD) October 27, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    LOVES the dress and fur #idie. I can’t wait for you to make it HUGEMONGOUS! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

